Community Profile: Mason

How did you find out about online freethought communities, and what’s your favourite thing about them?

I progressed on to freethought boards after I spent most of my time posting typo-ridden posts as a thirteen year old on videogame forums. IIDB really opened some doors for me intellectually.

Naturally the next step in quality discussion was RnR, and here I am now.

My favorite thing about these forums is that I can find like-minded people who share my thrilling sense of adventure and intrigue in life. People who possess the same qualities that I greatly admire about myself.

Over time we develop a bond in fellowship that just resonates, you know. Like this one time some of us were almost able to drive a schizophrenic poster to suicide. It’s just those great strides in achievement that really cultivate strong friendships. Like you think, “Hey, when we put our efforts together look what we can accomplish.”

That’s what makes it worth it to me.


What board or fora are we most likely to find you in and what will you be talking about?

RnR, mainly. I can usually be found debating politics and discussing secular activism.

I used to post a lot on TR but I was banned by the staff members there. Their official reason given in the ban message was for me being “an intolerable little shit”.

If you had to spend your life marooned on a tropical island with three people that you’ve met online from this community, who would they be, and why?

Pavlov’s Dog, Red Dave, and TySixtus.

lol

ETA: I answered this question assuming that the age of consent laws in America still held.

Which freethought or humanist thinkers have most inspired you?

I know it’s a cliche answer, but the first name that comes to mind is George Carlin. I usually hear this along with nothing but praise for the guy from the same zealous atheists that Carlin would have most likely laughed at and mocked, but I’d like to think that he would have merely sneered at me.

What’s your least favourite religious verse, and why?

Who cares? Honestly, repeating verses from any holy book that could incriminate any form of sanctity still doesn’t accomplish shit. If anything answering this would make me look like a major douchebag, and I have a reputable image to maintain.

If you could get rid of one stupid anti-freethought argument, what would it be? Why do you hate this one above all the rest?

Here we go…

Invisible Pink Unicorn or Flying Spaghetti Monster?

Oh man. Next question.

So what is it you do with your life when you’re not hanging around here, anyway?

You’ll usually find me actively participating in secular activism. I also run an animal shelter in my spare time while planning bake sales to raise money and awareness for autism.

What’s your favourite book, and why?

The book I probably most enjoyed reading was Sex, Drugs, and Cocoa Puffs by Chuck Klosterman. Every now and then you read a book that makes you want to write a book. Though 90% of the time this is based on the assumption that you think you actually have something interesting to say. That assumption is almost never correct for most people.

I will probably never summon the energy to write a book, but if Chuck Klosterman lets me I will be happy to plagiarize his work one day.

What’s the most embarrassing song you sing and dance to when you’re absolutely sure no-one else is around?

I don’t sing or dance. Ever.

What’s the one thing you want to do with your life before shuffling off this mortal coil?

Life is a misery-inducing well of nihilistic chaos, or so I read in a poem once. We’re all going to die with no significant meaning one day.

In the meantime I just plan to aim for reading some good books, enjoying some good jokes, and having some meaningless sex. That’s all anyone really needs.

What’s your poison? How much of it is needed to drive you under the table?

I am too young to drink and alcohol is a very bad thing.

That said, I don’t have a poison that springs to mind or an established amount. I’d just say that I know it’s enough when I start claiming to be a doctor to anyone who will listen.

Lucky #13: Who do you nominate to be interviewed for next month’s issue?

Pavlov’s Dog.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.