Community Profile: freemonkey

How did you find out about online freethought communities, and what’s your favourite thing about them?

~ from Google and from members of one group or another. I don’t have the time to hang out at them much, but I have been reading a handful of atheist/freethought blogs when I can lately. My favorite things about them are the freethinkers! My favorite things about freethinkers are their wit, intelligence, sense of irony. I also like the feeling of connection to these people.


What board or fora are we most likely to find you in and what will you be talking about?

~ freethought-forum.com, but like I said, not much time lately for hanging out, and even less time for talking. When I do, I go through phases, most recently it’s been News & Politics.

If you had to spend your life marooned on a tropical island with three people that you’ve met online from this community, who would they be, and why?

~ Oh, this is the part I hate because I could never choose just three. I will say that at the top of my long list of people I would want to be marooned with on a tropical island would be The Lone Ranger. He would be even more seriously awesome than The Professor. He knows everything, tells a great story and he’s kind. Plus he has mad sword skillz. Seriously, who would not want him around?

Which freethought or humanist thinkers have most inspired you?

~ Among them, but certainly NOT an exhaustive list – Carl Sagan (made science inspirational); H.L. Mencken (cutting sense of irony); Joseph Campbell (helped me to see the “art” of religions); Kurt Vonnegut (irony, playfulness & wit all rolled into one talented guy); James Randi (I had a huge crush on him when I was a little girl); Christopher Hitchens (yes, I know there are those who have strong feelings about (against) him, but I admire his ability to just say what he has to say without worrying about what anyone thinks, I wish I could be more like that). Someone to watch, I think, is Hemant Mehta, the Friendly Atheist. His openess is engaging and I hope he can change some closed minds.

What’s your least favourite religious verse, and why?

~ Since Christianity is the religion most pervasive in my society, I’ll go there. There are so many awful scenes in the Bible, from massacres to child abuse to woman hating, but I won’t go there, because I think that there are other, seriously dangerous verses that give some Christians the belief that they have the duty and the right to do whatever it takes to convert. Like this one: Acts 13:38-52 . I think it even gives them the the belief that they can expect to be persecuted for their beliefs.

If you could get rid of one stupid anti-freethought argument, what would it be? Why do you hate this one above all the rest?

~ “You really believe – you just hate God/you’re just angry/stubborn/selfish/hate your father/blah, blah, blah.” I especially hate this one because it starts with the premise that God exists and everyone knows it, so rejection is a deliberate fault of the non-believer. It lets believers feel smug and righteous because they “just know He’s real. And he’s so awesome.”

Invisible Pink Unicorn or Flying Spaghetti Monster?

~ Neither. Bridget the kitteh.

So what is it you do with your life when you’re not hanging around here, anyway?

~ Work. Art & photography. Books. Dancing. Singing. Being messy.

What’s your favourite book, and why?

~ Oh my gosh, that’s like asking what’s my favorite day or favorite person. I don’t have a favorite but I am partial to big glossy, full color, extravagantly illustrated art and archeology books. I also love a good story in many genres and well written, entertaining non-fiction.

What’s the most embarrassing song you sing and dance to when you’re absolutely sure no-one else is around?

~ Most recently it’s been the new Jack-In-The-Box commercial, “Yippie-Kai-Yay Mini Sirloin Burgers…..”.

What’s the one thing you want to do with your life before shuffling off this mortal coil?

~ Probably travel the world, especially Europe. I’ve been watching Rick Steves, both for inspiration and just in case I don’t get to it.

What’s your poison? How much of it is needed to drive you under the table?

~ New York style cheesecake. 2 slices.

Lucky #13: Who do you nominate to be interviewed for next month’s issue?

~ James Bannon

One Response

  1. […] NexusZine created an interesting post today on Community Profile: freemonkey « NexusZineHere’s a short outlineAmong them, but certainly NOT an exhaustive list – Carl Sagan (made science inspirational); H.L. Mencken (cutting sense of irony); Joseph Campbell (helped me to see the “art” of religions); Kurt Vonnegut (irony, playfulness & wit all rolled into one talented guy); … I don’t have a favorite but I am partial to big glossy, full color, extravagantly illustrated art and archeology books. I also love a good story in many genres and well written, entertaining non-fiction. … […]

Leave a Reply

