Community Profile – LadyShea

How did you find out about online freethought communities, and what’s your favourite thing about them?

The exact path from the sudden realization that I was atheist to joining a community is lost in the mists of time, but I know the writings of Acharya S were on that path! I found and joined IIDB pretty quickly, as it is the largest and easiest to find.

My favorite thing about freethought communities is the quality of the discussions and honing of my communication, research, and debate skills. Freethinkers don’t often accept mere assertions or argue from opinion.

What board or fora are we most likely to find you in and what will you be talking about?

You can only find me at Freethought-Forum.com these days. I may be talking about parenting, educational philosophies, politics, and fluffy filler like hobbies and crafts. Whatever catches my interest that day!

If you had to spend your life marooned on a tropical island with three people that you’ve met online from this community, who would they be, and why?

I’d rather not choose three specific people, as I don’t want to exclude people. Let’s just say someone who makes me laugh, someone who makes me think, and someone who can cook, because I can’t.

Which freethought or humanist thinkers have most inspired you?

George Carlin..he had great points to make, while being hilarious.

What’s your least favourite religious verse, and why?

Whatever one is used to justify anti-gay bigotry. It bothers me that Jesus’ talk of love thy neighbor and forgive and whatnot is overshadowed by what, one line about homosexuality? Hate is always ugly, but they feel their hate is dictated by their deity.

If you could get rid of one stupid anti-freethought argument, what would it be? Why do you hate this one above all the rest?

Any form of Pascal’s Wager. How good is your position if it requires mortal fear to keep or get people believing it?

Invisible Pink Unicorn or Flying Spaghetti Monster?

IPU of course.

So what is it you do with your life when you’re not hanging around here, anyway?

I have an amazing husband and 3 year old son, cool friends and family, a boat and easy access to the beach. You’ll find me enjoying one or a combination of them.

What’s your favourite book, and why?

I don’t have a fave, beyond whatever I am reading at that moment.

What’s the most embarrassing song you sing and dance to when you’re absolutely sure no-one else is around?

Pretty Tied Up by Guns n Roses.

What’s the one thing you want to do with your life before shuffling off this mortal coil?

Mark off as many items as I can from my big list of things to do before I die. I have made good headway so far.

What’s your poison? How much of it is needed to drive you under the table?

Champagne, I am pretty far gone after a bottle or so.

Lucky #13: Who do you nominate to be interviewed for next month’s issue?

freemonkey.

Leave a Reply

