Community Profile: halii

halii_cropHow did you find out about online freethought communities, and what’s your favourite thing about them?

I found these forums through a friend. Like any community, the best parts about my favorite freethought communities (for me) are having experts on hand to answer questions for you, hearing different perspectives on ideas and of course, the humor and being brought down to earth when you start taking yourself too seriously. I also love the lack of censorship and the limited moderation that exists in at least some of the communities.

What board or fora are we most likely to find you in and what will you be talking about?

Rants ‘n’ Raves, and I will be either trolling or talking about the American election/American politics in general.

If you had to spend your life marooned on a tropical island with three people that you’ve met online from this community, who would they be, and why?

Mason – and hopefully he’d bring his parrot with him. Mason’s humor would keep me entertained for quite some time. Also Mason is young and his flesh is best for eating (if we had to)

Damian – because as an IP lawyer he could help me patent my coconut radio or whatever else I invented while marooned on the tropical island. Also, if the time came he would be there to help me kill Mason.

Lola – one of the truest, nicest people I’ve met through this community, Lola really knows her way around the wilderness. She’d be great company and very helpful.

Which freethought or humanist thinkers have most inspired you?

I’d say Kurt Vonnegut.

What’s your least favourite religious verse, and why?

When I was little I learned the story of Abraham from a children’s bible, and it really scared me. I hate that story half because it seems to be in a lot of children’s bibles and it isn’t really a story for children. Are there any children sitting around scared worried that every trip with their mom or dad to the store could end in them being burned on a mountain somewhere?

If you could get rid of one stupid anti-freethought argument, what would it be? Why do you hate this one above all the rest?

I’m most annoyed when people argue that the United States is a Christian nation or founded on Christian ideals when trying to argue for why religion should be allowed in schools, or basically any argument where they can claim the bible dictates our government act a certain way.

First, it’s an incorrect argument which is justified by bringing up the same random string of facts about the very few founding fathers who were actually christian and practicing, and interpreting the First Amendment completely incorrectly. It still masquerades like it’s a legit argument somehow.

But what makes it the worst argument ever, is even if it was correct, it’s fucked up to say that you want to live in a nation that gives preferential treatment to anyone due to their religion.

Invisible Pink Unicorn or Flying Spaghetti Monster?

Neither.

So what is it you do with your life when you’re not hanging around here, anyway?

Legal stuff, mostly, and I’m on the board of directors for a nonprofit organization that helps those who have Lupus in this area.

What’s your favourite book, and why?

I have many favorites, but one of the least well-received would be A Separate Peace – which displays the impact of WW2 on younger civilian Americans quite well.

What’s the most embarrassing song you sing and dance to when you’re absolutely sure no-one else is around?

Goodbye Horses, by Q Lazarus

What’s the one thing you want to do with your life before shuffling off this mortal coil?

I’d like to have some influence in healthcare or sex education reformation in this country. And not to piss off feminists, but I’d like to have some kids too. 🙂

What’s your poison? How much of it is needed to drive you under the table?

Potato vodka. I used to be able to drink a lot, but now it seems about 3 shots worth is enough. Probably 6 to drive me under the table though. 🙂

Lucky #13: Who do you nominate to be interviewed for next month’s issue?

I nominate Mason. 🙂

Leave a Reply

