Poetry – by thirteen

thirteen has agreed to share with us some of her poetry – in two languages, no less! Originally written in Spanish, they’ve been translated for your reading pleasure (although both versions have been provided for the Spanish speakers out there). Thanks, thirteen!

“My Life”/”Mi Vida”

“My Life”

Life… oh, life! This life of mine…
I’m a tongue twister, few recite me
I’m a jigzaw puzzle, few put me together
I’m a crossword puzzle, few complete me
I feel like a hard drive in need of defragmentation.

Snow woman; white and cold…
Cold and indifferent.

I’m like a frozen sea that cannot be crossed.
Soulless woman…
Soul that maybe congealed…
Or froze; with such cold sentiment.

Why, I ask myself, do I feel so empty?
What am I missing, tell me, to satisfy me?
I don’t like to feel this way…
Or not feel at all.

I’m like ash whose heat is so well hidden
that no hurricane would stir…
In case there’s heat left of that fire
that once -if ever- existed.

Oh, life!
This life of mine
so cold, icy, empty and indifferent…

Why?

“Mi Vida”

Vida… !Ay, la vida! La vida mía…
Soy un trabalenguas; pocos me descifran.
Soy un rompecabezas; pocos me arman.
Soy un crucigrama; pocos me llenan.
Me siento cual disco duro que necesita desfragmentación.
Mujer de nieve; blanca y fría…
Fría e indiferente.

Soy cual mar de hielo que no logran cruzar.
Mujer sin alma…
Alma que quizás se congeló…
O frizó; con tanto frío sentimiento.

¿Por qué, me pregunto, me siento tan vacía?
¿Qué me falta, díganme, para satisfacerme?
No me gusta sentirme así…
O no sentir en absoluto.

Soy como ceniza cuya llama está tan oculta
que no hay huracán que encuentre…
En caso de quedar llamas de aquel fuego
que alguna vez -si acaso- existió.

¡Ay, la vida!
Esta vida mía tan
fría, helada, vacía e indiferente…

¿Por qué?

“Emptiness”/”Vacuidad”

“Emptiness”

Empty, as always,
that’s how I feel;
even though some happiness brightens
my emptiness a bit.
I look at myself and I see
ungratefulness.
What right do you have
to complain about life?
What right?
You live surrounded by beings that
love you and are loyal to you.
How dare you
complain?
Dishonorable feelings of yours!
False! Traitor!
What do you need?
Damned! Obscene!
Keep wandering in your emptiness,
and looking for that perfectionism
that you’re not to find…
While those who love you
ignore how false you are.

“Vacuidad”

Vacía, como siempre,
así me siento;
aunque cierta alegría ilumina
un poco la vacuidad.
Me miro y veo
malagradecimiento.
¿Con qué derecho
te quejas de la vida?
¿Con cuál?
Vives rodeada de seres que
te aman y te son fieles.
¿Cómo entonces te
atreves a quejarte?
¡Ignominios sentimientos tuyos!
¡Falsa! ¡Traidora!
¿Qué necesitas?
¡Maldita! ¡Obscena!
Sigue vagando en tu vacuidad,
y buscando ese perfeccionismo
que no has de hallar…
Mientras los que te aman
ignoran cuan falsa eres.

“Forgive Me”/”Perdón”

“Forgive me”

To you that have given me everything,
I ask for forgiveness.
You woke me up, you liberated me,
you gave me everything…
and I don’t deserve it.

Forgive me because you think I do
deserve it,
but only I know that I don’t.
I’m a hypocrite, and I will continue
to be one.

I ask for forgiveness, but you’ll never know.
It calms my conscience to ask the emptiness.
I have everyone fooled,
and I don’t regret it.

I’m sorry, to those of you that have given me everything,
and that I have hypocritically fooled.
I’m sorry, because I ask for forgiveness and I don’t mean it…
that’s why I say I’m sorry.

“Perdón”

A tí que todo me has dado, te pido perdón.
Me despertaste, me liberaste, me lo diste todo..
y yo no lo merezco.

Perdóname porque crees que sí lo merezco,
pero sólo yo sé que no.
Soy una hipócrita, y lo voy a seguir siendo.

Te pido perdón, pero no lo habrás de saber.
Calma mi conciencia el pedírselo al vacío.
Tengo a todos engañados,
y no me arrepiento.

Perdón, a ustedes que todo me han dado,
y que yo hipócritamente he engañado.
Perdón, porque les pido perdón sin sentirlo..
por eso es que les pido perdón.

Leave a Reply

