In Memoriam: Stiletto One – by CrazyRantingGirl

Frank Chen, also known as Stiletto One

(and the creator of Magical Brownies)

20 January 1986 – 12 February 2007

Rest In Peace

stiletto

About a year ago, a friend of mine took his own life. Known to most of us as Stiletto One, I also knew him as Frank Chen.

I first met Frank, or at least first encountered him, in the Internet Infidels Photo Thread. His presence almost dominated the thread for a time, but in a good way. Every time I signed in, I saw his familiar face, and I quickly felt like I knew him. After a while of having funny little conversations via private messages, we became Facebook friends. I noticed that Frank’s profile picture on Facebook was a photo of him swing-dancing. I had been learning how to swing-dance, too, and we talked about meeting in the summer to go dancing. But we never did go.

When I found out he had died, I couldn’t believe it. I cried on and off for weeks. Sometimes, when I think about him, I still cry.

Some people might find it silly that I was so affected by the death of someone I had never even met, but I knew Stiletto for years and we were friends. I had never before experienced the death of a friend, or of anyone close to me, except my grandfather. Perhaps that explains why I was so affected by Stiletto’s death. You see, my grandfather also committed suicide. I was too young at the time to realize or foresee his death, but with Frank…I knew about his obsession with guns, I knew about some of his personal problems, I knew he was depressed! But…it is pointless to consider what if’s and might-have-beens. I wish I had been able to tell Stiletto how much his friendship meant to me. He wrote in his blog that he thought he was “replaceable.” That is absolutely not true. I will never forget my friend Frank.

-CrazyRantingGirl

Related threads can be found at

Stiletto One’s LiveJournal

The Firing Range Wiki

Freethought Forum

IIDB

Rants ‘n Raves Wiki

Something Awful

deviantART

News articles: here

If you have any links that you would like to add, please contact any of the staff at NN, and we will include them for you.

Leave a Reply

